More Problems With Opting Out in NC

Around 2 days ago, we learned of another case of exactly what had happened to me (Zoe) when I tried to opt out, also in North Carolina. The girl in question was taken out of school because her principal told her that as long as she was in school, they had to test her; same story. About a minute or two ago, I sent an email to this girl’s mother about what I did and how to get out of it relatively cleanly. Below is the email, of course with the names taken out.

Also, and this is Zoe here, it doesn’t matter what the principal says. My principal also said that she would be required to test me. You know what I didn’t do? Care. What the school actually is required to do is give your daughter the test. ********, however, is not required to take it.
The thing is, ******** has to be strong enough in her beliefs about not taking the test so that when she is given the test, because she will be given the test, she can just sit there and not touch it. That is what I did. I was given the test, all right. There is no way that I know of to get out of that one. However, I wouldn’t touch it. I just sat there and wouldn’t even lift my pencil.
It doesn’t matter what the principal says she’ll do. ******** just has to be certain about what she’ll do when given that  test.

Thanks and good luck,
Zoe

It’s true. It doesn’t matter what the principal says they’ll do. It just matters that you know what you’ll do when given that test.

Leave a Reply

